SPIGA

Multilingual Personalized Press Reviews with Global Orientation

Competence CenterInformation Retrieval and Machine Learning
ContactProf. Dr.-Ing. Sahin AlbayrakDanuta Ploch
Partner: Neofonie GmbH

 

SPIGA creates multilingual, personalizable press reviews from a multitude of European and international news sources. SPIGA groups news according to real events, e.g. "CeBIT 2011", that are recognized automatically by the system. Instead of reading isolated news articles, users get a comprehensive overview of different news sources illustrating varying perspectives and the temporal development of news stories.

Semantic Topic Detection and Personalization

News articles are processed to identify, weight and disambiguate the main concepts and entities they contain. On the basis of this semantic profile, the system automatically recognizes if a new article corresponds to a known event, or constitutes a novel event (Topic Detection and Tracking). News articles are grouped into events using an incremental, centroid-based clustering approach. The semantic representations of events and news are used to guide the creation of personalized, topic-oriented press reviews that match concise selections of news articles satisfying a user’s information needs.

Together with our project partner Neofonie GmbH, DAI-Labor has developed a news aggregator that crawls documents from more than a thousand European news sources, and that uses the Apache UIMA Framework as the basis for a natural language processing pipeline that semantically annotates documents. The research focus of CC IRML's work lies on the development and evaluation of methods for Named Entity Disambiguation.

SPIGA is a cooperation project of DAI-Labor and Neofonie GmbH and is funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology.

SPIGA

Sprachunabhängige Personalisierte Informationsversorgung mit Globaler Ausrichtung

KompetenzzentrumInformation Retrieval and Machine Learning
KontaktProf. Dr.-Ing. Sahin AlbayrakDanuta Ploch
Partner: Neofonie GmbH


SPIGA erzeugt multilinguale, personalisierbare Pressespiegel aus einer Vielzahl europäischer und internationaler Nachrichtenquellen. SPIGA gruppiert die Nachrichten passend zu realen Ereignissen, wie z.B. "CeBIT 2011", die vom System automatisch erkannt werden. Der Anwender liest nicht einzelne Nachrichten, sondern erhält einen Überblick über verschiedene Quellen, die sowohl unterschiedliche Blickwinkel als auch die zeitliche Entwicklung von Ereignissen aufzeigen.  

Semantische Ereigniserkennung und Personalisierung

Aus jeder neuen Nachricht werden die wichtigsten Konzepte und Entitäten extrahiert, gewichtet und disambiguiert. Auf der Basis dieses semantischen Profils erkennt das System automatisch, ob eine Nachricht zu einem bekannten Ereignis gehört oder ob ein neues Ereignis vorliegt (Topic Detection and Tracking). Nachrichten werden über ein inkrementelles, zentroidbasiertes Clusteringverfahren zu Ereignissen gruppiert. Mittels des semantischen Themenprofils eines Nutzers wird ein personalisierter Pressespiegel erzeugt, der zielsicher Nachrichten passend zum Informationsbedürfnis des Anwenders findet.

Das DAI-Labor entwickelt zusammen mit dem Partnerunternehmen Neofonie GmbH auf der Basis des Apache UIMA Frameworks einen Nachrichtenaggregator für mehrere Tausend europäische Nachrichtenquellen. Der Arbeitsschwerpunkt des CC IRML liegt dabei auf der Entwicklung und Evaluierung von Methoden zur Named Entity Disambiguation

SPIGA ist ein Kooperationsprojekt des DAI-Labors und der Neofonie GmbH und wird gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie (BMWi).