PIUI

Personalized Intelligent User Interfaces

Competence Center: Information Retrieval and Machine Learning  
Contact: Prof. Dr. Sahin Albayrak 
Partners: Deutsche TelekomT-Mobiledpa

 

The acceptance and success of future communication services depends to a large extent on their usability. Users would like to use equipment and services which they can quickly and easily adapt to their own interests. The flood of information available on the Internet continues to increase, so there is a great need for a personalized filter for this information. With personalized, intelligent user interfaces, this need can be met. On behalf of Deutsche Telekom Laboratories, in the Personalized Intelligent User Interfaces (PIUI) project, technologies and options for the personalization of user interfaces are being evaluated. Criteria for differing types of interfaces and for promising areas of personalization are being defined. The needs and habits of potential users are also being analyzed.

Personalization Framework

For the project, a framework was specified for the explicit and implicit personalization and as then implemented as a prototype. Applications created like this adapt to each situation that a user gets into, as well as to their general preferences and abilities. This framework makes the personalization possible in many applications and via web services it can be integrated into a variety of applications on the user’s device. With the existing, partially specified solutions, this was previously not possible. Personalization services can thus make an important contribution to improving usability and thus reinforcing customer retention.

Feature Extraction Framework

Another framework, implemented as a prototype, is the Feature Extraction Framework (FEF). The FEF is a framework for handling text documents and their textual features. Textual features can be anything from a word appearing on a page, a key phrase that has been assigned or extracted, an identifier of a WordNet set of synonym numbers, the document’s author, a reference to another document, the document length and so on. The FEF handles all logics of extracting and assigning features to the documents. The FEF always considers documents in a special context by handling documents in sets called Document Collections. Saving these features along with each document will facilitate the process of clustering documents.

Concrete Scenarios

On this basis, a set of applications has been implemented as demonstrators to show the possibilities and benefits of an intelligent personalization system for user interfaces. E.g., with the help of a configuration widget, via a web interface, users could thus easily and intuitively set up their mobile devices and add new services using drag & drop. After configuring, the user interface on the mobile phone is automatically modified. On the basis of the user’s behavior, the system can also suggest new widgets (implicit personalization). Another example shows how intelligent user interfaces can be adapted to an IPTV environment. When selecting these, particular attention was paid to the commercial potential and to the approaches for possible integration into Deutsche Telekom services.

PIUI

PIUI - Personalized Intelligent User interfaces

KompetenzzentrumInformation Retrieval and Machine Learning  
KontaktProf. Dr. Sahin Albayrak 
Partner: Deutsche TelekomT-Mobiledpa


Erfolg und Akzeptanz künftiger Kommunikationsdienste hängen in hohem Maße von ihrer Benutzungsfreundlichkeit (Usability) ab. Die Benutzer möchten Geräte und Dienste verwenden, die sie schnell und einfach ihren Interessen anpassen können. Zudem nimmt die Flut der im Internet verfügbaren Informationen weiter zu, so dass es einen großen Bedarf für eine personalisierte Filterung dieser Informationen gibt. Mit personalisierten, intelligenten Benutzungsschnittstellen können diese Bedürfnisse erfüllt werden. Im Auftrag der Deutschen Telekom Laboratories werden im Projekt Personalized Intelligent User Interfaces (PIUI) Technologien und Möglichkeiten für die Personalisierung von Benutzungsoberflächen evaluiert. Dafür werden Kriterien für unterschiedliche Typen von Schnittstellen und erfolgversprechende Bereiche von Personalisierung definiert. Zudem werden Bedürfnisse und Gewohnheiten der potentiellen Nutzer analysiert.

Personalisierungs-Framework

Für das Projekt wurde ein Framework für die explizite und implizite Personalisierung spezifiziert und prototypisch implementiert. Die so erstellten Anwendungen passen sich an die jeweilige Situation eines Nutzers ebenso an, wie an seine generellen Vorlieben und Fähigkeiten. Das Framework ermöglicht die Personalisierung über unterschiedliche Anwendungen hinweg und kann über Web-Dienste in verschiedene Applikationen auf dem Endgerät des Nutzers integriert werden. Mit den bestehenden, teilspezialisierten Lösungen war dies bisher nicht möglich. Personalisierungsdienste können so einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Benutzungsfreundlichkeit und damit zur Kundenbindung leisten.

Feature Extraction Framework

Ein weiteres im Projekt entwickeltes Framework ist das Feature Extraction Framework (FEF). Das FEF ist ein Framework für die semantische Verarbeitung von Textdokumenten und deren Eigenschaften, sogenannten Features. Ein Feature umfasst alles, angefangen bei einem Wort oder einem Satz auf einer Seite, einer Gruppe von Synonymen, dem Autor des Dokumentes, einer Referenz zu einem anderen, verwandten Dokument und so weiter. Das FEF übernimmt den gesamten Ablauf des Extrahierens und Zuweisens von Features zu Dokumenten.

Konkrete Szenarien

Eine Reihe von Anwendungen wurde auf dieser Basis als Demonstratoren realisiert, um die Machbarkeit und den Nutzen eines intelligenten Personalisierungssystems von Benutzungsoberflächen zu demonstrieren. Besonderes Augenmerk bei der Auswahl galt dem wirtschaftlichen Potenzial und den Ansätzen für eine mögliche Integration in die Dienste der Deutschen Telekom. So können Nutzer etwa mit Hilfe eines Widget-Konfigurators über ein Webinterface ihre mobilen Geräte einfach und individuell einrichten und mit neuen Diensten ergänzen. Webdienste wie „web'n'walk“ können so mittels Drag & Drop einfach und intuitiv personalisiert werden. Nach der Konfiguration wird die Bedienungsoberfläche auf dem Mobiltelefon automatisch angepasst. Diese aktive Konfiguration stellt eine Form der expliziten Personalisierung dar. Zudem kann das System auf der Basis des Nutzerverhaltens neue Widgets vorschlagen (implizite Personalisierung). Ein anderes Beispiel zeigt, wie sich intelligente Benutzungsschnittstellen im Umfeld von IPTV anpassen lassen.