PIA

Personal Information Assistant

Competence CenterInformation Retrieval and Machine Learning
ContactProf. Dr.-Ing. Sahin Albayrak
Partners: T-SystemsDeutsche Telekom,
 T-MobileReutersn-tvdpa
Website: pia-services.de

 

The Personal Information Assistant (PIA) is a tool for researchers to support searching for and working with scientific papers. PIA offers a semantic search, computes personalized recommendations, and continually supplies new information that fits the user’s information need. PIA’s features have been visualized with a web application for scientific research. Users can search for scientific papers provided by ACM and IEEE, and manage their searches and search results. Users may also assign ratings and tags to individual search results, thus allowing the underlying personalization component to learn a user’s interests and preferences for future searches.

Overview

Information discovery matching the needs and interests of individual users is a challenging task and plays a central role in the daily life. Unfortunately, most of the time a lot of irrelevant information hides the relevant, search results are sometimes redundant or contradictory, often distributed over multiple sources, thus resulting in difficult and costly retrieval. In order to counteract this information overload, personalized services that collect, filter, prepare and present information from different sources are required.

 

The goal of the Personal Information Assistant project is to provide a comprehensive agent-based solution for the personalized and device-independent supply of information. The user receives information that is relevant to his personal needs and interests. This includes daily news, background knowledge on work issues, or information on leisure time plans and activities.

Besides a typical web search engine interface, the PIA system allows users to define and save searches which are then continually monitored by search agents for any new developments. The architecture of the PIA system is designed to allow information sources to be flexibly integrated into the system. Information is analyzed and filtered using advanced filtering methods, e.g. content-based or collaborative filtering techniques. The use of multiple filtering techniques, which are guided by integrating user feedback from a learning and user modelling component, guarantees a high accuracy of search results.

PIA

Persönlicher Informationsassistent

KompetenzzentrumInformation Retrieval and Machine Learning
KontaktProf. Dr.-Ing. Sahin Albayrak
Partner: T-SystemsDeutsche Telekom,
 T-MobileReutersn-tvdpa
Website: pia-services.de


Der persönliche Informationsassistent ist ein Werkzeug für Forscher, welches die Suche nach wissenschaftlichen Artikeln und die Arbeit mit diesen unterstützt. PIA bietet eine semantische Suche, personalisierte Empfehlungen, und versorgt den Anwender kontinuierlich mit neuen Informationen, die zu seinem Informationsbedürfnis passen. PIAs Features werden mittels einer Webanwendung für wissenschaftliche Forschung visualisiert. Anwender können nach Artikeln der Verlage ACM und IEEE suchen, sowie ausgeführte Suchen und gefundene Suchergebnisse verwalten. Anwender können außerdem Ergebnisse bewerten und taggen. Die Personalisierungskomponente nutzt diese Informationen, um die Interessen und Präferenzen des Nutzers für zukünftige Suchen zu lernen. 

Überblick

Das Finden von wichtigen und für den individuellen Benutzer interessanten Informationen spielt eine zentrale Rolle im täglichen Leben. In zunehmendem Maße sind diese relevanten Informationen jedoch unter unwichtigen und nicht den persönlichen Interessen des Nutzers entsprechenden Informationen versteckt. Wichtige Daten sind oft auf verschiedene Quellen verteilt, zu denen der Zugang aufwendig oder kompliziert ist. Der Ausweg aus dieser Informationsüberflutung sind individuell konfigurierbare Dienste, die Informationen aus verschiedensten Quellen sammeln, filtern, aufbereiten und zustellen. 

Das Ziel des Projekts PIA ist eine umfassende agentenbasierte Lösung für die personalisierte und geräteunabhängige Bereitstellung von Informationen jeglicher Art. Der Anwender erhält die Informationen, die seinem persönlichen Bedürfnis und Interessen entsprechen. 

PIA stellt neben einem webbasierten Suchinterface die Möglichkeit bereit, ausgeführte Suchen zu speichern, welche dann kontinuierlich durch Suchagenten auf neue Entwicklungen überwacht werden. Die Architektur ist darauf ausgelegt, neue Datenquellen flexibel integrieren zu können. Informationen werden mittels modernster Filterverfahren – z.B. inhaltsbasiert oder kollaborativ – analysiert und gefiltert. Die Anwendung verschiedenster Filtertechniken, die durch die Integration von Anwender-Feedback aus der Lern- und Nutzermodellierungskomponente gesteuert werden, garantiert eine hohe Relevanz der Suchergebnisse.